n orAll the work under this section, is skill based work.


Limbo Paper Cut 1.1

We were tasked with dubbing over a piece of game play from the game Limbo, although there were some rules. You were only allowed to use 3 sheets of paper to create the sounds and ambiance. We only got a limited amount of time to dissemble the clip and write all the things we needed to create the sounds.

Creation of sounds

As we could only use paper it was very challenging doing a lot of the sounds for the dub. We had to be creative and use the sheets of paper in different ways to produce different sounds. For example rolling two pieces of paper into rolls and then hitting them together produces a very good impact noise, which can be interrupted as a light impact or even footstep noises. To make a larger impact noise we grabbed the ends of one paper sheet pulled it close together and then as quickly as we could pulls the ends away from each other.

Ambiance was an issue because of the limitations of materials to create sounds with. We created ambiance by rubbed two edges of paper against each other and rubbing the faces against each other to create ambiance.

Cutting and editing the sounds

We cut down our sounds using audacity which wasn’t so complicated. If you had any background noise you could of used the inbuilt tools which can remove some background noise but it may sound strange of weird.

Implementing the sounds

We used Adobe Premier to dub over the clip. We imported our sounds into the software and then pasted them into the working area. I used many clips from different recording and overlapped some of them. I used three different footstep noises to give variation, two are just the pure recording of the sound and the third is both of the sounds compiled on top of each other. I had to make sure the volume levels are right and not too loud which would create distortion.

limbo-papercu

Reflect

Adding the sounds into the clip gives the clip feeling and a sense of reality. The objects feel like they react with one another and the actions of the player feel responsive and gives a sense of being a real person. Adding sounds on top of each other gives it variation within the clip.

The original had more depth to the clip, adding a very distinctive atmosphere which was near to impossible to recreate with the materials and equipment we had. Although I did try to create some kind of atmosphere by using two pieces of paper and slowly rubbing them against each other. The impact noises aren’t as powerful as the original one within the clip, they have more bass and more of a gritty sounding effect to it.

The sounds I used are appropriate with the sequence as they fit really well and they’re different from one another. I didn’t use any library sounds as that was a part of the challenge and only used 3 sheets of paper.


Cube 3D Model 1.1

Under this I will be showing my research, my processes, my creation and my opinion on the final outcome.

As we were new to the 3Ds max software, we decided to create a simple shape and texture it. Mine was a box. We were also told about certain websites such as texture.com which offer a lot of cool and useful textures for us to use. As research I looked at some cardboard box pictures to reference my work from.

The process I used in 3Ds max

The process of making the box wasn’t hard, we just had to click on the box tool, and drag on the X and Z axis to the desired size and then change the height on the Y axis. Then we used unwrap UVW to allow us to get the texture template file.

picture

The process I used in Photoshop

Once I done that, we export our texture template onto Photoshop and we went onto Textures.com to select a texture we wanted. Then we had to make sure our textures were facing the right way and we layered them on top of the texture file. I also drew in holes to imitate handles on the side of the box. We went back into 3Ds max and applied our texture onto the model and our model was finished.

textured

Final outcome and thoughts

The process of making this was simple, although I’m not happy with the final outcome. The texture is very low resolution and the hole isn’t even and straight. I feel like the texture is really letting down this box and should be improved.


Hansel and Gretel Term one Project

The work under this section will show you all the things I’ve created for the Hansel and Gretel project.


 3Ds Max and Photoshop


Candy Cane (3D Model) 1.1

Under this I will be showing my research, my processes, my creation and my opinion on the final outcome. I will use this to the lead up to the gingerbread house in my environment.

I didn’t use any research as I knew really well how candy canes would look like from previous observations and first hand experience.

untextured

The process I used in 3Ds max

Within the program I placed in a capsule, I made sure it had 40 height segments which aloud me to do certain modify options onto the capsule. I made sure I set my units to centimeters and then proceeded to make the scale appropriate to the character height. I made sure to make it longer than I needed as I needed to take in mind the bend at the end of the candy cane stick. I made the height 230cm in engine and made the thickness of it 4.5cm.

I applied an unwrap UVW onto the model and made sure I clicked flatten to the model in order to show all of the sides of the model, then I saved the UVW template and placed it into Photoshop.

I applied the new texture onto the model and then began to add the modifiers. I used a twist and bend modifiers onto the model.

In the bend modifier I made the angle of it 190° on the Z axis and made the upper limit to 88.295cm. The twist modifier I made it going at the angle of 635.5° and made it twist on the Z axis.

The process I used in Photoshop

Once I placed the UVW template I made sure to figure out which side is which on the model. I used the Unwrap UVW modifier to see which side was what, then I proceeded to colour in the stripes. I made sure I left some gaps in between to give it the striped look I wanted.

Final outcome and thoughts

I feel like the model itself came out great but sadly the texture has some slight flaws to it. Firstly the end part and the stripe don’t fully connect and there is a distinctive white line going through it, this could of been avoided if I carried on the line in the template and not end it on the edge of the line. The quality of the lines are also blurry but I think that’s due to the resolution of the template which could of been a quick fix to the problem.


Gingerbread Man 3D Model 1.1

Under this I will be showing my research, my processes, my creation and my opinion on the final outcome.

This project will be set about the Hansel and Gretel story, I would need to make sweets and bakery foods to be presented on the outside of the gingerbread house. I’ve researched some pictures into gingerbread men and here are my references:

When researching the gingerbread men i wanted them to fit the atmosphere i wanted to give, i also looked at different angles to get a feel of how they look like. I also looked at basic templates for gingerbread men to work with on 3Ds max.

untextured-picture

The process I used in 3Ds max

The way I created this was placing a cube at the widest section in the head area, I worked in front view for this. Then I extruded the tops and bottom of it to make it taller and this adds more sections. I grabbed each Vertex to make sure i select the back ones too, and create a rough head shape in the front view. I then did the same process while going down to the torso, I then extruded the sides to create arms and legs and did the same process.

To make the decor on the gingerbread man i used different shapes to mimic the frosting and sweets put on top. I created the eyes by using a sphere which I cut in half and then squished down to create a flatter shape. To create the frosting I used a capsule with many segments, I then positioned the vertexes in such a manner to look like Frosting. To create uneven decor i used soft selection to make it seem more natural.

To finish the gingerbread man, I extruded the front and back of the model, and then

created indents to give it a curve on the back and front. Then I smoothed the model by using the smoothing tool.

The process I used in Paint.net

Once I got my gingerbread UVW template I made sure I knew which sides were which. I used the unwrap UVW modifier to check which was which. Once I done that I began looking for a gingerbread texture, I used a dirt texture as it gives me a similar look to the model. I layered it over the template and also added some detail to the back of the model, I made it slightly burnt like it would be in real life.

The sweets and the icing were simple to do, all I did was add a colour over them and I was done.

I made two versions of the texture, one with snow and one without. I coloured the areas where I wanted snow and made it a slightly off white (not pure white), then I dissolved it using the Dissolve tool under the list of tools that the program had to offer.

Final outcome and thoughts

This was the first true model I made in 3Ds max, I am happy about how the model came out and I think it would really suit my landscape and theme. Although there were some problems when I was creating it which would of been easily avoided, I added too many sections which complicated the process and made it more fiddly.

The texture turned out great although I feel like the buttons and icing were lacking in finer detail. The snow also seemed very off and looks rushed.

Bibliography

Comfort Cooking, Spiced Gingerbread Man Cookies. Available at: http://www.thecomfortofcooking.com/2013/12/spiced-gingerbread-man-cookies.html (downloaded: 03/11/2016)

OpenClipart-Vectors. Available at: https://pixabay.com/en/anthropomorphic-cookie-decoration-1297309/ (downloaded: 03/11/2016)


Twizzlers 3D Model [Scrapped] 1.1

Under this I will be showing my research, my processes, my creation and my opinion on the final outcome. Although this Model was scraped due to the time we were basing the project in.

For the outside of the gingerbread house I needed sweets and bakeries to fit the theme of it. I decided to go for one of my favorite sweets which are Twizzlers. I did a little research in Twizzlers as their shape is very simple and look bland.

twizzlers-cherry-twists

When researching them I wanted to see how long they were and how thick they were mainly, the texture on it wouldn’t be difficult as its a solid colour with no complex detail. Although making the model would be slightly tricky but nothing too difficult.

untextured

The process I used in 3Ds max

I created a rectangle box which had about 24 segments on it and was dragged up into stretched out rectangle. I tend used extrude on the sides and made it look like a Plus from the top (+). After I’ve done that I twisted the model 360° so it gets twisted in a straight line. I then pinched the ends using the scale tool and I was finished with the model as of the final stage.

I didn’t texture this as it was a scraped idea and it would of been waste of time to carry on this model and begin to unwrap and texture it. The model was also broken at some parts of it and was a very annoying model to work with anyways.

Bibliography

http://www.ohnuts.com, Twizzlers Red Licorice Twists – Strawberry. Available at: https://www.ohnuts.com/buy.cfm/bulk-candy/licorice/twizzlers-red-twists-strawberry (downloaded: 16/11/2016)


Lollipop (3D Model) [Lost] 1.1

Under this I will be showing my research, my processes, my creation and my opinion on the final outcome.

This was going to be one of the confectionery items which was suppose to be used within the environment. I was going to use it as a fence around the gingerbread house, but due to loss of a memory stick this model was lost.

The process I used in 3Ds max

This model consists of two shapes, one is a cylinder and the other one is a sphere. I made sure I extended the cylinder was the correct length in proportion of the actual lolly. With the sphere I selected the horizontal middle of the sphere selecting the vertex’s. I then used the scale tool to make it wider than the rest (made sure I only went on the Z and X axis).

I then used unwrap UVW to get the template for the texture, I moved the template into Photoshop. I placed the texture from Photoshop into the material editor and applied it to the model.

 

The process I used in Photoshop

As usual by now I made sure I knew which side was which by using the unwrap UVW tool within 3Ds max. I then proceeded to give the whole canvas a off white colour. To make the two tone look I was aiming for on the lollipop I filled in the bottom half red and made sure it wraps around without any distortions or without them lining up. I then saved it as a PNG and moved it into 3Ds max.


Grass foliage 3D Model 1.1

Under this I will be showing my research, my processes, my creation and my opinion on the final outcome.

Research

As Hansel and Gretel is set within a woods, I had to do some research on about woods. I looked at Winter/Spring time woods, where the snow starts to melt and it’s becoming green again. I found some pictures which show what I was trying to go for.

As I will be working on the grass foliage I wanted to look closely at all the grasses and shrubbery within these pictures. From what I seen there isn’t a lot of foliage, it tends to be scatters around and seems to be quite flat and empty. There are areas where there is a higher population of shrubbery compared to the rest of the area.

The process I used in 3Ds max

I placed a plane down and made sure it didn’t have any height or length segments on the model. I made it an exact square so I had to have the sides the same length.

I made 3 differen foliage models which are exactly the same but with different textures on it. I made all of the textures inside of Photoshop and pasted it into the 3Ds material editor.

The process I used in Photoshop

I created two different textures for each model, a diffuse map texture and a opacity map texture.

For the diffuse map I pasted in the picture of the foliage without any background, I then added another layer and moved it under the first layer. I picked the most dominant colour of foliage and set it as the background. I duplicated the layer which had the picture of the foliage on it and the one under the original picture would be blurred. I then proceeded to save it as a PNG image and then the diffuse picture was finished for the foliage type.

For the opacity map I pasted the foliage on top of a black background, I then proceeded to remove all the colour from the foliage picture by using the black and white tool. Then I used contrast and brightness to make it a solid white colour, I would repeat multiple times if needed to insure a even white colour through out the foliage. I then proceeded to save it as a PNG image and then the opacity picture was finished for the foliage type.

Final outcome and thoughts

I feel like the foliage was done really well except the grass due to the colour. It seems a lot darker compared to the other foliage models. To me it looks more like autumn grass compared to spring. Its an easy fix as all I would need to do would be to tweak the colour of it using the hue and saturation tool.

Bibliography

http://www.wallpaper.zone, Snow Winter Forest. Available at: http://wallpaper.zone/wallpaper/3174106 (downloaded: 03/11/2016)

Azmoude, E (2011), Forest Spring Forest. Available at: http://www.panoramio.com/photo/54510273 (downloaded: 03/11/2016)

CMistWrite (2012), Snow in Connecticut. Available at: https://cmistwrite.wordpress.com/2012/01/08/snow-in-connecticut/ (downloaded: 03/11/2016)

Elshout, K (2010), Snow in Forrest. Available at: https://www.flickr.com/photos/kris-alblasserdam/4332428482 (downloaded: 03/11/2016)

Marko, K (2013), A week in the forest – early spring. Available at: https://http://www.looduskalender.ee/en/node/16488 (downloaded: 03/11/2016)

Stock Photos (2015), melting snow, forest. Available at: https://https://stockphotos.io/flowers-trees-fruit-on-plants/melting-snow-forest/ (downloaded: 03/11/2016)

bullteacher.com (2015). Available at: http://bullteacher.com/24-blending.html (downloaded: 01/12/2016)

textures.com, NaturePlants0005. Available at: http://www.textures.com/download/natureplants0005/107830?q=foliage (downloaded: 01/12/2016)

textures.com, NaturePlants0022. Available at: http://www.textures.com/download/natureplants0022/107849?q=foliage (downloaded: 01/12/2016)


Gingerbread House 3D Model 1.1

Under this I will be showing my research, my processes, my creation and my opinion on the final outcome.

Research

While researching houses in Germany within 1900’s I wanted it to look like it was a shack and sort of run down in order to give it a sort of abandoned look to it. So when I came across this building I found I decided to use it as the others were too clean and also too big.

1900_house_germany

The process I used in 3Ds max

1

I started off with making all the sides to the house, I made 1 face for each exact dimensions of the house (example front and back, left and right). Once I had half the house down I made sure for each wall I had a unwrap UVW on it and made sure the checkers were fine and not distorted. I then copied each part so I had two of each and built the rest of the house and then I had a complete house layout.

For the icing for the house I made sure I used the capsule tool and gave it height segments allowing it to bend to give it that icing look to it, also made sure its the correct length for each edge the two faces meet. I added a noise onto the capsule and made it so it would less straight and make it look like icing once I applied a off white texture onto it (which I created in the material editor).

Once the overall shape was there I made some adjustments to it and also added more detail to it such as windows, doors, a chimney and more icing.

The process I used in Photoshop

None was used for this as it consisted of seamless textures.

Final outcome and thoughts

This model in my opinion was the worst I created out of everything, in game it looks like it was made out of some scrap wood not even gingerbread. The overall model itself was fine but I truly think the textures let it down massively. If I had the time I would of worked on it a lot more and add more finer detail to the piece as it wasn’t fully complete in the first place. I also didn’t take a lot of screen grabs and the pictures above aren’t the finished model.

Bibliography


Tree 3D Model 1.1

Under this I will be showing my research, my processes, my creation and my opinion on the final outcome.

Research

297267_7_single_blossoming_tree_in_springFirstly I needed to make sure I had some kind of reference to use with the model of the tree so I can make it as similar to the tree and lifelike as possible. I used some previous research which i acquired from the foliage research as it included trees too. But I needed to make sure I made trees which can cover a lot of area without having a lot of them placed down to avoid any frame loss during game play.

The process I used in 3Ds max

tree_lineMain tree trunk

I made a plane and made sure it was the same height and length as the resolution of the picture which I used as reference for the model. I made sure to also set the units and made sure the scaling was correct.

I then began to draw in the main trunk of the tree making sure it’s as accurate as possible. I used the line tool in order to do these, and then made sure to pull them out on the X axis, because if I don’t the tree will look very flat and wouldn’t have any depth. I basically wanted it to look like a square from the top, making sure it spreads out and covers the areas I wanted.

 

Once I managed to do that  moved onto the next step which was make the actual trunk of the tree and give it some thickness. I proceeded to create a cylinder and made it have 18 sides and also make it have 28 height segments. Once I’ve done that I applied a path deform binding (WSM) and a taper onto the cylinder.

On path deform I selected the path I wanted it to follow which was the main tree trunk. I used taper to start getting slimmer the further away it is from the bottom, you can change the amount and the curve of the taper.

tree_unwrapI applied a unwrap UVW onto the each cylinder and then made sure that the checkered grid on the models were square and not distorted enough. Once I done that I went on textures.com and found a seamless (very important for it to be seamless) texture. I applied it into the material editor and then onto the model itself to give it a tree look, and that is the main trunk complete.

Branches

I started off with making a straight line with some bends into it making it look like a twig, I did the same process to it as I have done with the main trunk.I added another cylinder but this time made sure it had 4 sides instead of 18 before. This makes the overall model lower poly which means that it won’t affect your performance in game. Then used taper and path deform binding (WSM) on it.

Once I’ve done the twig for all of the branches to sit on I needed to create the branch itself (leafs). I looked at some branches on textures.com and grabbed one which would suit my game. I moved it to Photoshop and created a opacity and a diffuse map of them.

branch

I made a plane which contained 3 height segments and 3 length segments to it, this allows me to bend it so it’s not flat and doesn’t look unnatural. I applied the texture onto the plane and used the opacity map to remove the background from the branch. I used the bend tool in order to bend it, I used bend on two of the axis in order to give it a curved look to it and it also fills more area.

Once I’ve created one branch, I made sure I changed the pivot point of it to be located at the beginning of the branch. Then I attached it to the cylinder using the path constraint which is located under animation. I did this a couple of times until I had a full section of the tree branch. I then attached all the planes onto the cylinder and moved the entire object’s pivot point at the start. Then I repeated the same thing but this time using path constraint onto the tree trunk. After I did that I had a complete tree and was ready to be exported.

The process I used in Photoshop

For the tree trunk I didn’t do anything for the normal texture itself in Photoshop as it was a seamless texture and all the work on the texture could be worked in the unwrap UVW tool. Although I made a normal map using a plugin in Photoshop which allowed us to easily make it, we had to make sure we changed the +y to -y so its not inverted.

For the branch I already had a diffuse picture for it as I found it on texture.com and it had one which I could use freely, but I didn’t have a opacity map which was needed to not show the background. I started off by grabbing a picture of the branch without any background and putting it into Photoshop (made sure not to change the placement or resolution). I then made it black and white and lowered the brightness and increased the contrast of it. This made the branch fully black and I had to invert it, which I did and then I filled the background on a different layer a solid black.

Final outcome and thoughts

I feel like the overall tree was okay, I could of done a better job with the trunk itself and maybe the branches were too light for the model and environment it self. I must admit I did make a tree before although due to my memory stick being lost I lost all the work I had on it so I was stressed on time to get another tree done. I am happy how it turned out though as it fills in the area really well and it doesn’t have any broken textures or even a broken model.

Bibliography


Audacity


Voice Audio 1.1

Under this I will be showing my processes, my creation and my opinion on the final outcome.

The process I used to record

As we worked as a group in the stages of planning the game, we were sent to record some audio for the game with these groups. The group was composed of 2 males and 2 females, I asked one of the 2 female group members if they could help me voice over the parts I needed, they agreed.

We had the mic set up which the voice actor spoke into. We used a recording device to record the 2 voice lines which I prepared before recording. She repeated the same line 3 times in 3 different ways to give me a variation when creating the voice line in Audacity. In the end I had 2 audio clips which consisted of 3 repeats each.

The process I used in Audacity

I grabbed one of the audio clip which included the 3 same voice lines. I picked the ones I liked which were a whispering and normal clip, I tend overlapped them and added a Paul stretch onto the clips and then exported it out.

Repeated for the next clip to and made them matching so they sounded similar.

Final outcome and thoughts

I think they turned out really well, personally I can’t find anything which I dislike about the recording or editing to the audio clips. They sounded very leery and that’s the sort of theme I was going for based off the story.


Hard FX Audio 1.1

Under this I will be showing my research, my processes, my creation and my opinion on the final outcome.

The process I used to record

For the footsteps we focused the mic onto our work area. We got someone to step on some leafs and paper which created the sort of noise we all wanted as a group. We recorded it a couple of times of make sure we had good recordings.

The process I used in Audacity

I moved the audio clips into audacity and picked 2 footstep noises for the right and left foot. I picked the ones which I thought worked well and used them. I exported them as a WAV as two different files. I didn’t add any effects to the sounds as I wanted to keep the original and not changed.

Final outcome and thoughts

When I imported the sounds into the engine and heard them side by side I noticed they didn’t really go well. It might be due to the clipping I did in Audacity which might of been the problem. If I had more time I would go back and fix this issue.


Ambiance Audio 1.1

Under this I will be showing my research, my processes, my creation and my opinion on the final outcome.

The process I used to record

No ambiance was recorded, I used stock recordings.

The process I used in Audacity

I grabbed three stock recordings and I mashed them together in audacity, editing the audio level and that was about it. I used a bird track and fainted it quite a bit so you could only slightly hear the birds to give the sense of a dead woods with hardly any animals there. I also added a sort of leery noise to the ambiance to give it that kind of feel. The last ambiance I used was a wind ambiance.

Final outcome and thoughts

It did turn out well and did suit the game and how I wanted it, although if we had more time I would of recorded the sounds myself and make it exactly how I wanted it personally.


 Unreal Engine Work


Creating the World and Folders

So to begin with we create the game, to do that we started up unreal and we chose the Third Person template game mode. Once we do that, we save it as our Hansel and Gretel project to insure we have our game saved in a location we know where to find and accidentally not lose it.

We chose the default world which was a large flat plane to create our environment in, we chose to make it smaller as we weren’t going to use all of it and it would only slow down the game when we try to play it. We decreased the scale of it to 31×31 quads.

Before we started the creation of the world we created the necessary folders to keep our assets organised and clean.

Folders.PNG

In total I had 6 folders which contained everything I needed for the environment, more might be needed if you’re working with different things such as animation. The folders them selves are self explanatory:

Audio: Any audio used within the world would go into here; hardFX, voice and ambiance.

Landscape: All the materials needed to make the landscape.

Map: Stores the actual environment.

Materials: This gives the textures a certain feel and texture to it, it relies on textures as they are used to make materials.

Model: The 3D model which relies upon the materials in order for it to be coloured.

Textures: The diffuse, normal and opacity maps for the models which are used for the materials.

Editing the world and texturing it

map

I had to look back at the map which I created before hand to get an idea of how I wanted the environment to look. (keep in note this wasn’t the final outcome as some of the ideas I had were too complicated for the amount of time we had so it had to be cut).

I imported all of the textures which I required for the environment which were 2 variants of grass (one with more dirt), Grass with snow and Gravel. I used this to create paths, tops of hills and the lead up to the gingerbread house.

Here is the material of the Landscape which holds all of the textures needed to make the landscape look good and have limited shine:

material_landscape

I used the sculpt tool to create the bumps and terrain making it not flat and making the player feel scale if you could say that. I only used 3 tools which were important to me, and they were the sculpt tool, smooth tool and flatten tool. These all do different things which are very handy.

Sculpt: Allows deformation of the environment by increasing or decreasing height in a selected area.

Smooth: Rounds off sharp and aggressive edges to the environment making it a softer ramp. (Great for paths)

Flatten: When you click and drag the area will increase or decreased to the height which you clicked at.

You can also increase the strength and the size of all of these depending how you wanted to make your environment, allowing more precise editing.

Importing models

Importing models wasn’t difficult as it only required you to export the model in 3Ds max which I mentioned before. Once placed into the engine I placed them into the correct folders, I also made sure for the models that all the textures were working as intended and also created collision boxes for the models (most of them, didn’t do it for the grass and bush foliage).

Adding Trees and foliage

For the foliage I dragged all of the necessary models into the foliage tool in Unreal. Then I proceeded to tick one and draw onto the environment with that certain foliage, I started off with the tree and noticed that it was in fact floating above the world, I countered this by making it go -20 on the min and max height of the model. You can also increase and decrease the scale and the density of the brush depending on where and how much you would want into your world.

material_foliage

I animated all of the foliage to make it sway with the wind, this will give it a more realistic feel and more of an immersive one too. Although the animations where very plain and nothing special it did the job well.

Adding sounds

Voice

I used a box trigger to add in the noises as I wanted them to be activated in a certain location. I made sure it would only play once to avoid looping and annoying the player while playing through the game.

Ambiance

I used the ambiance sound tool in the area and made sure I placed it where the place would realistically hear the ambiance. I made 2 which were both located in the open areas of the world as there won’t be any trees to block the wind.

Hard FX

animation

To apply the footsteps I did the most simplest method in order for it to work. I went into the character animations section and selected the walk, whenever the characters foot made contact with the ground I made sure to apply the correct audio clip to it. I did this twice as it played twice for each step and made sure the character moved at 300 speed which will force the character to walk instead of sprint allowing the footsteps to activate.

Lighting and screen effects

fog
I added a atmosphere fog tool to the world and made it cover the entire world so it was consistent throughout the whole environment. I made sure it looked how I wanted it, I wanted it to be a very cold morning so a blue tint to it would give it that frosty feel to the entire world.

I made sure I added a skylight which improved the shadows of the world and also gives me the screen effects I wanted such as bloom, which came in handy as it makes the environment look a lot nicer.

 Optimization

When I finished the area I realised the game didn’t really run all too well on the machine, I had to think through certain things in order to make the game run smoother.

I found out the main problem was the large amount of foliage I had in the world. I decided to strategically remove some foliage from the further back areas and make it less dense which wouldn’t be noticed from further ranges. I also removed some of the trees and replaced them with one of the foliage which resembled a bush and used them as a filler for further areas. Once I done all of this the game ran a lot smoother on the machine which we had to record on.

Another thing we could do was lower the game engine graphics quality from epic to normal or high, I decided not to do this as I didn’t want it to impact my visuals.

Finished Project


Health and Safety 1.2

The classrooms are laid out in a very clean and presentable way. There aren’t any loose cables running across the floor, instead they are hidden under flooring or in walls. The computers are checked weekly to make sure they’re in working order for the learners to use.

The classrooms are clean without any mess in the area, there are bins for all rubbish and everyone is expected to put their rubbish in the bin, and have all their stuff under the desk to have room for people to move around freely. No drinks near the computers or electrical equipment.

The is a designated fire exit and path which you would follow in order to be safe in case of a fire. There are also dotted fire extinguishers in case of an emergency and fire alarm spots around the entire college allowing you to press it to alert everyone of danger.

Comparison

Here is a comparison of a safe working environment (left) compared to a unsafe working environment (right).

The computers on the left are organised with the cables hidden away in the desk and under the flooring. Any liquids are away from the machines and the desks and computers themselves are clean.

The workplace on the right is messy, cable are everywhere which clutter the room and make the place a danger due to loose cables causing electrical damage or pulling on cables could pull something on top of the user. There are foods and liquids in the area which are dangerous when mixed with electrical equipment.

Bibliography

https://www.s-im.t.kyoto-u.ac.jp, computer room. Available at: https://www.s-im.t.kyoto-u.ac.jp/mat/en/information/about (downloaded: 07/12/2016)

http://www.therecroomfurniture.com, computer-room. Available at: http://www.therecroomfurniture.com/computer-room.html (downloaded: 07/12/2016)


Intro to sound – How it creates meaning 2.2

Games

When making a game audio is something which you would have to source for yourself or get it from somewhere. As game engines don’t make noises out of nowhere and require the developer to go record and implement sound to the game. These sounds could be different things such as ambient, music, voice, Foley and FX.

 I’ll demonstrate how audio can be used within a game and how important it is to think about it in detail. (Game being played is Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition on PC)

Within this single clip there are different elements of sound. The ones I’ve noticed are Foley, Ambient, Hard FX and Special FX.

  • Special FX were used while operating menus, these would be created digitally and implemented into the game.
  • Ambient was used throughout the whole video, as you could hear the wind and the chaos unfold in the distance with an occasional scream.
  • Foley was used for the Sword play and even some buffs for weapons such as the fire buff for the sword I used.
  • Hard FX would be for the steps for example, you can hear the chain mail for example move every time you step.

Ambient sound in dark souls is key to set an atmosphere, they’re used to make the player feel uneasy or at danger at times. It can also tell a lot about the environment it self, tell a story just through sound alone.

Games in general have a heavy impact when the right sound is used, they tend to rely on it as well as some other media. You could have a silent movie but a silent game wouldn’t be engaging or even feel like its something, doesn’t bring the game to life.

Effect on user

It creates a feeling that the game has a life of its own, the characters and the ambiance set it all together. Creating a story which can pull you and make you think about the past of an area. Although sometimes its better to have no sound then have a terribly made sound, which can even sometimes repeat if it doesn’t have variety or it’s different compared to the other variations.

Movies

When it comes to sound, movies or any other type of media which records audio and video is slightly easier than games as an example. They would also add in certain sound techniques during the final stage of development.

Within this section of the movie clip I have noticed that it uses voice, ambient and hard FX.

  • At 0:59 into the clip you hear the boat driver speak, then later followed by another person speaking. Within movies voice tends to be a major part of the media.
  • Hard FX were used at 1:56 as you could hear gun fire and bullets going past the camera, creating a depth to the sound. Giving it almost a surreal experience.
  • Ambient audio within movies tends to be unavoidable and is always will be a part of movies, unless they completely remove all audio or record in a silent environment. They can edit the ambiance in post development and suiting what they want to emulate.

With movie production you tend to work on sound both while recording and developing the actual video part of production and the rest would be done in post production, while editing the movie.

With movies producers might record a single scene more than once just in case a certain noise was present which shouldn’t be in the movie.

Effect on user

Movies try to get you engaged with you watcher. This movie tries to simulate the history to as close as they can, using certain sounds such as the constant ringing in your ears when a bomb hit near you. It puts the watcher in the persons shoes and makes you feel emotionally attached to that character.

Comparison

Both of these medias are different and similar in their own different ways. As an example they both use ambiance, although one is forced and the other one could be added in. Movies tend to be worked on after they are recorded during the editing stage but in games sound has to be interactive, as in when you go into an area the music and ambiance changes. When you swing a sword or fire a gun, a noise is produced.

